BRANDNÄCHTE (NIGHTS OF FIRE) 1996

This composition for flute(s), oboe, clarinet(s)/sopranosax, trombone/euphonium, trumpet/bugle, piano/synthesizer, two drummers and tape-music, which was premièred in June 1996 as a commissionary work for the International Music Institute in Darmstadt/Germany(Mr. Solf Schäfer), deals with the horror of war and in an abstract way and vicarious for innumerable other war-catastrophies sets into music the air-raid on the city of Darmstadt by allied forces on Septembre 11/12 1944 in which 12.300 people lost their lives within a few hours, burned to death, suffocated, torn to pieces.
Be it Hiroshima, Stalingrad, London or Coventry, be it Afghanistan or Kuwait, be it Tschecenia, Bosnia or the Lebanon, be it in the past or in the present, the composer feels the urge to musicalize these unimaginable apocalypses in order to shake up and senzibilize the listener.
The work`s duration is 36 minutes and it is divided into seven sections: Sirens, rumbling, bombs, fire-storm, individual destinies, correction-attack and casualty-reports.
In this piece S.Stockhausen detaches himself from serial composition-techniques and works a lot with dodecaphonic sequenzes and their permutations, integrates his own texts and lyrics as well as quotes and utilizes historical and contemporary original-recordings from the second world war, current politics and the history of war in the 20th century.
An audiomix of the première was transmitted live via ISDN to the city of Graz/Austria, projected on loudspeakers and triggered sounds on an interactive sound-wall constructed by media-artist Richard Kriesche. Those sounds provided by Simon Stockhausen were transmitted back to Darmstadt and integrated into the total-sound of Brandnächte. Towards the end of the performance the piano-part from section 5, during which some of the musicians wandered around the audience, was repeated by a pianist performing in Graz and also transmitted to Darmstadt.

The première was performed by:
Cathy Miliken - Oboe/Voice
Dietmar Wiesner - Flutes/Voice
Ian Stuart - Clarinets/Soprano Sax/Voice
Michael Svoboda - Trombone/Euphonium/Voice
Marco Blaauw - Trumper/Bugle/Voice
Hermann Kretzschmar - Piano/Synthesizer/Voice
Adam Weisman - Percussion/Mallets/Voice
Rainer Römer - Drumset/electronic drums/Voice
Simon Stockhausen - Conductor
Michael Häck - Sound-projection
Pianist in Graz - Sandy Lopicic

 


excerpts from the live-recording of the première



Solo from section 5:Solo from Brandnächte for Oboe, performed by Cathy Miliken live in Melbourne 1996

BRANDNÄCHTE 1996

Die Komposition Brandnächtefür Querflöte(n), Oboe, Klarinette(n), Posaune/Euphonium, Trompete/Flügelhorn, Klavier/Synthesizer, zwei Schlagzeuger und Tonband, die im Juni 1996 als Auftragskomposition für das Internationale Musikinstitut Darmstadt (Solf Schäfer) im Europäischen Satellitenzentrum EUMETSAT uraufgeführt wurde, befaßt sich mit Kriegsereignissen und musikalisiert in abstrahierter Form, stellvertretend für abertausend andere Kriegskatastrophen, den Luftangriff auf Darmstadt vom 11. auf den 12. September 1944, bei dem 12.300 Menschen binnen weniger Stunden ihr Leben verloren, verbrannt, erstickt, zerfetzt.
Ob Hiroshima, Stalingrad, London oder Coventry, ob Afghanistan oder Kuwait, ob Tschetschenien, Bosnien oder Libanon, ob damals oder heute. Der Komponist verspürt den Drang in sich, diese unvorstellbaren, immer wiederkehrnden Apokalypsen in seiner Musik zu thematisieren, um den Zuhörer aufzurütteln und zu sensilibisieren.
Das Werk dauert ca. 36 Minuten und ist in sieben Abschnitte unterteilt: Sirenen, Brummen, Bomben, Feuersturm, Einzelschicksale, Korrekturangriff und Opfermeldungen. S.Stockhausen löst sich in diesem Stück von seriellen Kompositionstechniken, arbeitet viel mit Reihen und deren Permutationsmöglichkeiten, integriert eigene Texte und Zitate, verwendet O-Töne aus dem 2.Weltkrieg, der aktuellen Politik und der Geschichte des Krieges in diesem Jahrhundert.

Die Uraufführung wurde live über ISDN-Leitung nach Graz übertragen und traf dort auf eine von Medienkünstler Richard Kriesche und Simon Stockhausen präparierte, interaktive "Klangwand" deren Klänge widerum zurück nach Darmstadt übertragen wurden und sich dort in den Gesamtklang der Brandnächte integrierten. Außerdem wurde der Klavierpart aus dem 5. Abschnitt, während dem sich ein Teil der Musiker frei im Raum bewegte, gegen Ende der Komposition in Graz von einem Pianisten wiederholt und gleichfalls nach Darmstadt übertragen.

Das Uraufführung wurde gespielt von:
Cathy Miliken - Oboe/Stimme
Dietmar Wiesner - Querflöten/Stimme
Ian Stuart - Klarinetten/Sopransaxophon/Stimme
Michael Svoboda - Posaune/Euphonium/Stimme
Marco Blaauw - Trompete/Flügelhorn/Stimme
Hermann Kretzschmar - Klavier/Synthesizer/Stimmme
Adam Weisman - Perkussion/Mallets/Stimme
Rainer Römer - Drumset/elektronisches Schlagzeug/Stimme
Simon Stockhausen - Dirigat
Michael Häck - Klangregie
Pianist in Graz - Sandy Lopicic


Auszüge aus dem Live-Mitschnitt der Uraufführung



Einzelsolo aus dem 5. Abschnitt:Solo aus Brandnächte für Oboe, gespielt von Cathy Miliken live in Melbourne 1996